Posted by: Xue Wen | May 7, 2007

You’ve Got To Read This Book!

Caught your attention, right?

Are you thinking of, ‘Huh? what? I’ve got to read this book? What book?’

Have you ever thought that this title is actually a name of a book?

You’ve Got To Read This Book!

I’m now reading this book – You’ve Got To Read This Book. Jack Canfield and Gay Hendricks are the coauthors of this book. Jack Canfield is one of the teacher from the movie ‘The Secret’, who is also a cocreator of ‘Chicken Soup for the Soul’ series. While Gay Hendricks is the coauthor of ‘Conscious Loving’. 

It’s a book where 55 people tell the story of the book that changed their life. I’d set myself a goal that, I will enjoy finish reading this book in two weeks time, counting from today. this mean that I need to read 5 stories per day… ^_^

One of the stories I’d read today got my attention… It’s by Jim Maclaren

Jim had a touching story, and the book that inspire him was – The passion of the Western Mind: Understanding the Ideas That Have Shaped Our World View by Richard Tarnas. While I, myself was inspired by his own story.

Jim has survived 2 nearly fatal accidents. First, he lost his leg, while on second one, he was an incomplate quadriplegic… He still survived.. That’s amazing and miracle…

Later, I visited his official website and saw his intro movie. It’s touching… he shared his story until cried.

p/s: Official site of the book

–>> http://youvegottoreadthisbook.com

Responses

  1. Hi there,

    This has definitely caught my attention. I will definitely check out this book. I am a fan of Jack Canfield as well.

    Cheers,

    Adnan

  2. Me too.. a fan of Jack Canfield.. Another book of his is also highly recommanded by my is ‘The Success Priciples’..
    Her testimonial is that, ‘you’ll never regret of reading it’…

  3. I was born in the Silicon Valley. Trouble with authority and sin abounded throughout my youth, but the Lord never gave me over to a reprobate mind. I achieved modestly in the ways of the world but excluded the knowledge of God in my life until one day I was sitting in my pickup truck and the spirit of God came upon me, and I confessed the name “Jesus Christ.” The spirit had done what Jesus said he would do. “He shall receive of mine, and shall shew it unto you.” The word of God also tells us that “whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord, shall be saved.”

    I did not know the gospel, but over the next few days I read the accounts written in the books of Matthew, Mark, Luke and John. The Lord also opened my understanding so I could understand the words of Jesus, which the Lord said are spirit and life. I was dead in my transgressions, but I heard the words of the Lord speaking, “Amen, amen, I say unto you, The hour is coming, and now is, when the dead shall hear the voice of the Son of God: and they that hear shall live.”

    I repented and make this confession, “Jesus Christ is come in the flesh. He was wounded for my transgressions. He bore my iniquity. He was crucified. ‘And when they had fulfilled all that was written of him, they took him down from the tree, and laid him in a sepulchre. But God raised him from the dead.’ I will forever hold onto and trust in the words of Christ who said, ‘He that believeth on me, hath everlasting life.’ I believe that Jesus is the Christ, the son of the living God.”

    That’s my story of how the gospel, written in a book changed my life. You see, I did not know Jesus personally, neither did I want to until I was about twenty-eight years old. I am thirty-three now and things have changed.

    When I was a boy, I was told that there was God, and that it was Jesus who was in heaven. I understood that as a boy.

    The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork. Day unto day uttereth speech, and night unto night sheweth knowledge. There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard. Their line is gone out through all the earth, and their words to the end of the world. In them hath he set a tabernacle for the sun, Which is as a bridegroom coming out of his chamber, and rejoiceth as a strong man to run a race. His going forth is from the end of the heaven, and his circuit unto the ends of it: and there is nothing hid from the heat thereof. –from Psalm 19

    Because that which may be known of God is manifest in them; for God hath shewed it unto them. For the invisible things of him from the creation of the world are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even his eternal power and Godhead – from Romans 1

    When I was a young man, I knew that God was, but I did not see any way to know him. Oftentimes I would curse him and say damn because I thought he was far, far away and not the least bit interested in my rotten circumstances. As I grew older I became increasingly convinced that whoever God was, he wasn’t about to do anything for me that he hadn’t already done, so it became easy for me to think I was better off without him. I may have even convinced myself that he might as well not exist. I went through school, and took jobs. I started making more and more money. I was doing better than a lot of people around me, and I didn’t involve God in my life in any way. In fact, I was devising some persuasive philosophies that explained the world as I knew it without God at all.

    My idealogical thinking wasn’t doing me much good though. I saw other people as my adversaries and I was constantly in offense or rebellion. I was frequently in trouble with the law, even in jail. I was even charged with felonies (non of which were violent). My sentences were typically short, but when I the charges were mounting up and I was getting in bigger and bigger trouble. By the unseen grace of God, I repented of my evil doing and escaped a destructive lifestyle. I started getting better and better jobs that paid better than doing crimes. Being in trouble with the law was costing me too much to continue. I was growing in prosperity. I bought a house, a new truck, and I was road-racing motorcycles on the weekends. Nevertheless, the purposelessness of everything I had caught up to me. A little before I turned twenty-eight, I was growing weary of holding back the despair that was trying to overtake me. I was sitting in my pickup truck one day with a cup of coffee in my hand, when I conceded to myself that I was utterly without hope. I had lost love for the things I had loved, the things I had been living for passed away, and what I was living for at that time was worthless. It wasn’t the first time that I realized my life was rotten. The fact that my life was better than a lot of people around me wasn’t any comfort, and I was ready to see everything I did have burn for the hate of it. Then something remarkable happened. I confessed the name Jesus Christ. I didn’t understand it at the time, but the spirit of God had filled my pickup and the angel of the Lord had done what Jesus said he would do.

    He will glorify Me, for He will take of what is Mine and declare it to you. from John 16

    With tears in my eyes, I said that name. What had happened to me that day might not have been any different than what happens to any of us in those moments when we realize we need to change our lives and the way we live them, except that I was determined to know Jesus Christ. Over the next five days, I had determined to read what I knew had been written of Jesus in the gospel according to Matthew, Mark, Luke and John. That’s four books, but they’re all found in one, and I’m telling you, “You’ve got to read this book!”

    What happened to me in the pickup truck might not have even been the first time something like that had happened. I have a feeling that you might have had an experience like that too, where you were broken and come to the realization that if something didn’t change; you were going to die without hope. The occasions when God entreats us to turn to him are often, but our hearts are hard and the occasion of our responding to him is rare.

    I didn’t know Jesus after my experience in the pickup truck. I knew that God was, but now I had begun to believe that he would reveal himself to me for who he really was. I had thought Jesus was a hippie character that was only endearing to a few misfit dreamers and ideological oddballs. I knew a lot of crooks and shysters used his name to make a buck off naïve and credulous fools that had little to loose. I understood that empires had been built and conquered by religious governments and tyrannical churches wielding his name to oppress and terrorize people. Apparently, this was the same Jesus who was a comfort to wholesome, charitable folks that dressed their children nice for church on Sunday and came home to white picket fenced houses with soft beds. Having said grace at the dinner table I thought must have ensured them they were really good people and not ungrateful for everything they had. If I found out that the bible revealed Jesus to be like any of that, I might have forgot about what happened altogether. Instead, I was willing to believe that God purposed to reveal who he really is and that he was perfectly capable of doing so.

    The Word of God changed my life forever, changed who I am, and my eternal destiny. I will never be the same. After reading some of the accounts of what Jesus had said and done, I began to realize that this was not just a story or a historical account, but that God was expecting me to respond. I knew I was a sinful man, and the appropriate response before a holy God was to repent on my face, but was that all there was to it? Even though my heart was growing more and more repentant, I determined to learn more about Jesus before I responded. God’s word tells us that justice and judgment inhabit his throne. God’s law is a terrible thing. It slays men as utterly guilty. When Jesus taught on the Ten Commandments it was like I was looking into in a mirror and seeing what manner of person I was.

    The scribes and Pharisees were experts in God’s law, which tells us things like “Thou shalt not kill; and whosoever shall kill shall be in danger of the judgment.” But Christ gave us a better understanding of the law. “But I say unto you” Jesus said, “That whosoever is angry with his brother without a cause shall be in danger of the judgment: and whosoever shall say to his brother, Raca, shall be in danger of the council: but whosoever shall say, Thou fool, shall be in danger of hell fire.” He taught us that a lustful look comes from an adulterous heart, and “That every idle word that men shall speak, they shall give account thereof in the day of judgment.”

    Now we know that what things soever the law saith, it saith to them who are under the law: that every mouth may be stopped, and all the world may become guilty before God. Therefore by the deeds of the law there shall no flesh be justified in his sight: for by the law is the knowledge of sin. from Romans 3

    Jesus said, “That except your righteousness shall exceed the righteousness of the scribes and Pharisees, ye shall in no case enter into the kingdom of heaven.”

    As it is written, There is none righteous, no, not one: There is none that understandeth, there is none that seeketh after God. They are all gone out of the way, they are together become unprofitable; there is none that doeth good, no, not one. from Romans 3

    For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God; from Romans 3

    If we acknowledge that we are sinners, then we must also acknowledge that God is true.

    Jesus said… Verily, verily, I say unto you, Whosoever committeth sin is the servant of sin. from John 8

    I knew I was a sinner and a servant of sin. I had believed that if I tried to be a good person, that if I just did my best, God would have to accept me because I’m only human, and even in this I had entirely failed. But now I was starting to see God the way he really is. He is light and in him is no darkness at all. I knew that I was a dead man, and I didn’t want him to forgive me or accept me. He was the only pure thing I knew, the only thing that wasn’t rotten to the core. He couldn’t pardon me or overlook my sin. That would make him a corrupt judge. I was standing before him, totally convicted, utterly guilty. I did not expect mercy, but instead I was certain of death. I did not see any way out. I thought if God didn’t judge me as guilty then his word was no good, his justice was flawed and he was no better than a man. I knew the sentence was hell, but I wanted truth and justice more than I wanted to live any longer without it. God is pure and perfect and if the choice was mine to change that or die, I was ready to die. God’s justice is perfect, and he will not compromise his righteousness, but he has made a way when I thought there could be no way.

    For he hath made him to be sin for us, who knew no sin; that we might be made the righteousness of God in him. from 2 Corinthians 5

    Surely he hath borne our griefs, and carried our sorrows: yet we did esteem him stricken, smitten of God, and afflicted. But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed. All we like sheep have gone astray; we have turned every one to his own way; and the LORD hath laid on him the iniquity of us all. He was oppressed, and he was afflicted, yet he opened not his mouth: he is brought as a lamb to the slaughter, and as a sheep before her shearers is dumb, so he openeth not his mouth. He was taken from prison and from judgment: and who shall declare his generation? for he was cut off out of the land of the living: for the transgression of my people was he stricken. from Isaiah 53

    But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us. from Romans 5

    For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. from John 3

    When Jesus Christ came in the flesh, God made a way for us to be reconciled to him. I want to share this with you from God’s own words from the Holy Scriptures. We are made right in God’s sight when we trust in Jesus Christ to take away our sins. And we all can be saved in this same way, no matter who we are or what we have done. For all have sinned; all fall short of God’s glorious standard. Yet now God in his gracious kindness declares us not guilty. He has done this through Christ Jesus, who has freed us by taking away our sins. For God sent Jesus to take the punishment for our sins and to satisfy God’s anger against us. We are made right with God when we believe that Jesus shed his blood, sacrificing his life for us. God was being entirely fair and just when he did not punish those who sinned in former times. And he is entirely fair and just in this present time when he declares sinners to be right in his sight because they believe in Jesus. from Romans 3

    Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me. from John 14

    For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord. from Romans 6

    God has made those who believe right in his eyes. Even as Jesus said, “Amen, amen, I say unto you, He that believeth on me hath everlasting life.” (John 6:47) So as God’s word tells us, “all our righteousnesses are as filthy rags….” (Isaiah 64:6)

    But the righteousness which is of faith speaketh on this wise… That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved. For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation. from Romans 10

    I did not understand all of what God was doing in my life yet, but I knew that I loved this Jesus more than anything I had ever known. I could care less about a religious system invented by men to justify sinners before an angry god, or a hippie character that seemed to float in a fantasy of peace and love while mankind went on in bondage to sin, slaying one another, defiling women, stealing, abusing ourselves with an addiction to death. I had been ready to perish that God would be perfect, but he made a way of salvation. The salvation God wrought for us is not so that a rotten piece of scum like who I had been could get off scot-free and into heaven on a free ride. The salvation he wrought for me and for you is that we could be made a new creation, born again of incorruptible seed that we could know him, and be with him, even being called his sons, there being no remembrance of our sins because he has washed them away with his blood. God had worked a sincere and deep repentance in my heart, his law had cut me to the core so that I was ready to die, but he also showed me his purpose in this.

    For God sent not his Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through him might be saved. from John 3

    I came not to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance. from Luke 5

    The Lord caused me to understand that his purpose was my salvation and as the father Jesus spoke of in a parable, so was my heavenly father to me. In the Lord’s parable, a son had left his father to live in sin and returned to him with repentance. The father said:

    Bring forth the best robe, and put it on him; and put a ring on his hand, and shoes on his feet: And bring hither the fatted calf, and kill it; and let us eat, and be merry: For this my son was dead, and is alive again; he was lost, and is found. And they began to be merry. from Luke 15

    So I understood there was more to the response God was looking for from me than just repentance. He was looking for faith, whereby we our justified in Christ. It is our faith that pleases him. God does not have a willingness to overlook your sins. God has the power to beget you again, to re-create you as a new creature by quickening, making alive your spirit by the resurrection of Jesus Christ. Therefore lay hold of eternal life and an inheritance incorruptible, and undefiled, that does not fade away, reserved in heaven for you who he will keep by his power through faith unto salvation.

    He that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live: from John 11

    Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that heareth my word, and believeth on him that sent me, hath everlasting life, and shall not come into condemnation; but is passed from death unto life. Verily, verily, I say unto you, The hour is coming, and now is, when the dead shall hear the voice of the Son of God: and they that hear shall live. from John 5


Leave a Reply

Categories

